How I started quilting

Hi to my readers!  I do believe that I have a few now who regularly check my blog . Thanks for your support.  If you would like to get an email notification when  I write a new post, scroll down to the “Follow” button on the right of screen, click on it and add your email address. (You can unsubscribe at any time but I hope you won’t!!)

If you are a new visitor to my blog, I would love to hear from you so please leave a comment!  I am VERY excited about this new project of mine so I hope that my family and friends will spread the word around about my blog to anyone who may be interested.  It would be nice to build up a nice little group of followers to write to each week!

Some of you who have known me for a long time may have been surprised when you discovered that my blog was primarily about quilting.  I thought I’d give you a glimpse into my new passion and why I love it so much.

I have until recently never been interested in sewing of any kind.  Even back at school, my favourite part of Home Economics was the cooking semester! As a young adult, my mother tried unsuccessfully to give me a second hand sewing machine.  Eventually, I reluctantly accepted it and it remained unused and unloved for a decade or more before I handed it back to her!

Just before we made the move down to Tasmania, a friend of my mother (thank you D) gave my mother a sewing machine she no longer wanted.  By that stage, I had children and thought sewing was a skill I SHOULD have.  But again, it remained in its case, unused…

Shortly after our move to Tasmania, I met a couple of lovely school mums and one of them (thank you A!) invited me along to a sewing group at her house. We were to make tiny little baby quilts for a charity called Angel Babies.  I remember being very nervous and offering to iron the seams, but no, I was instructed to sew some squares together.  I barely knew how to use my machine and I remember a few of the ladies looking quite amazed (and a little horrified) that someone could have no sewing experience at all!!

And that was the start of it.  From then on, I spent a LOT of time on the internet searching for tutorials and projects to sew.  Some of my earliest projects were tea towel aprons for the school fair and several bags which remain today quietly hidden away (!!?!)  Eventually, the more I sewed, the more I became enthralled by the creative process. I started frequenting Spotlight and discovered a wonderful fabric store in Hobart called Frangipani Fabrics.  It was at this store and under the guidance of their lovely staff, that I manged to make my very first quilt.

Baby Quilt Sept 2014
Baby Quilt Sept 2014

I just LOVE the process of making a quilt and I ADORE new fabrics (sorry hubby!). I spend most of my waking hours (and quite possibly my sleeping ones!) thinking about what I would like to make next.  At the moment, I have probably more than a dozen quilt projects on the go.  My nights are usually spent reading quilting blogs and perusing Pinterest, adding new ideas/projects to my Pinterest board SEW INTEREST.  I am now a very enthusiastic committee member of the newly formed Tasmanian Modern Quilt Guild.  I am definitely not what you would call an experienced  quilter. Maybe I have been a bit premature in creating this quilting blog, but surely when you feel this degree of passion for something, it will eventually lead to more…

I hope you will follow me on my journey, Deb 😉

Leave a Reply

