Prism Challenge Start

Mt Wellington snow I had to share this photo with all of my family and friends still sweltering in the northern Australian winter!

We had our first snow for the year on Mount Wellington yesterday.  For those of you who have never been to Hobart, Tasmania (Australia), Mt Wellington provides a spectacular backdrop to the city of Hobart and stands tall at 1,271 metres . If you click on this link, you can view many more images of this beautiful mountain.

Yesterday, I finally made a start on my quilt guild’s (TMQG) Prism Challenge.

IMG_20150507_085008611For this particular challenge, members chose to draw a fabric bundle from a lucky dip. I got orange – Yay!!
IMG_20150507_085644228

Each bundle consists of five fat eighths of a colour (of varying shades and tones) and a fat quarter of a common background neutral fabric. From this bundle, we have to create a “Prism” mini quilt, 15×30 inches, to display at our TMQG’s booth at the upcoming Quilt Exhibition held in Launceston in July.

I drew myself up some basic triangle templates,

IMG_20150507_084857750 and decided to try some paper piecing with my orange tones. This is what I have come up with so far although I’m not really sure where I’m heading…?!

IMG_20150507_111924228IMG_20150507_132533115

I’ll keep you posted! Deb 🙂

2 thoughts on “Prism Challenge Start

  1. Brrrr-rrr, I think I’ll stay on the Sunny Coast Deb.
    It would be great seeing Mt Wellington with snow on it though.
    Those beaut orange colours will help keep you warm.
    Is there a “prisms in the snow” photo shoot about to happen?
    Lol, H&A.

    Like

Leave a Reply

