Amy Butler Quilt Update

Amy Butler Quilt

Hi all, I thought I’d give you an update on one of my 2015 Finish Along projects.

I am ready to start quilting my Amy Butler Quilt, FINALLY!

IMG_20150505_101242010

When I first began quilting last year, Amy Butler was the first designer whose fabrics I craved.  With my small but varied collection of her beautiful fabrics, mostly purchased on ebay, I decided to make my first quilt. (Obviously, this didn’t end up as my first finished quilt, LOL!)

IMG_20150421_111421270

I decided to make a Garden Fence Quilt using a free tutorial by Hyacinth Quilt Designs.  I chose a navy blue solid as sashing to really make those bright colours pop!

For the backing, I pieced together all of my larger pieces of leftover fabrics. This is definitely the most time consuming backing I have ever made.

IMG_20150421_111859814

This quilt is very important to me as it holds so many memories of my early days as a new quilter/fabric lover.

I can’t wait to show you the finished result soon!  Deb 🙂

P.S. – Happy Mother’s Day to all of you lovely mums out there. I do hope you had a relaxing day like I did. I even managed to finish off a project but I’ll tell you about that next time! Deb x

Linking up with Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts

12 thoughts on “Amy Butler Quilt Update

  1. Gorgeous way to highlight those fabrics, and love the pieced back! One of my favorite designers, too. Best of luck to your quilting. I’m sure this will be a treasured quilt.

    Julie @ Pink Doxies

    Like

  2. what a beautiful quilt top! I love Amy’s fabrics, but do feel they work better in a pattern like this rather than all sewn together. Great choice of navy as the backdrop, I’m loving navy at the minute

    Like

Leave a Reply

