A Few Bumps in the Road

This has been a STRANGE week for me…

With the onset of winter down here in Tasmania, Australia, my car decided to NOT start in the mornings due to the cold.  It is still currently at the mechanics and I have been without a car for the better part of a week. Thankfully, we have the school bus at our doorstep but I have missed several appointments and my monthly Modern Quilt Guild meeting-Arghh!!

Also, we were without home internet connection for four – repeat, FOUR!! – days! (Not a good start to the New Quilters Blog Hop) By Friday, after two days sans internet, I was ready to call the whole thing off!

So we took our little old caravan and family away for a long weekend to Bruny Island and “got away from it all”. We went on a 14km bushwalk which took us nearly seven hours to complete. IMG_20150607_124934699_HDR And when we got home, the internet connection had finally been restored!

On a positive note, while I have been “house bound”, I have managed to get quite a bit of sewing done. I finally finished my Swoon Quilt top.

Swoon Quilt Top

I will admit to feeling relieved that this quilt top has been completed.  I had some trouble with bulky seams and my little machine really “clunked” over some of them.

IMG_20150610_102844932 Anyway, this pretty green and yellow quilt is not my usual style but I am happy with the chosen colour palette.

IMG_20150610_102856779A lot of the fabrics are by Joel Dewberry and mostly from my stash.

IMG_20150610_080928541I hope to get it quilted within the next few weeks but have a long list of must do’s before then!

2015 New Quilt Bloggers GroupFinally, I want to say a big hello to all participants in the 2015 New Quilt Bloggers Hop!   I am excited about my involvement in this group and really look forward to visiting everyone’s blogs in the coming months. Thank you to those of you who are following my blog either on bloglovin’ or by email. I really hope that I can entice you to visit again soon!

I also want to say a HUGE thanks to our wonderful hosts:

Cheryl@Meadow Mist Designs

Yvonne@Quilting Jetgirl

Stephanie@Late Night Quilter, and

Terri Ann@Childlike Fascination.

I know we are all incredibly grateful for the generosity, support and encouragement these lovely ladies are providing to us newbie bloggers/quilters.

I’m hoping this week will be a great one, Deb 🙂

Linking up to Let’s Bee Social@Sew Fresh Quits

19 thoughts on “A Few Bumps in the Road

  1. Your Swoon quilt is gorgeous!! I just bought the pattern last week and have been thinking about fabric choices. These colors/prints are exactly something I would choose! It’s fabulous (yes,I’m gushing but dang! I love it!). 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi there. I’m in the New Bloggers blog hop also and I’ve had my own technological woes. The laptop I normally use crashed and I’m using a different one I can’t really tell if the blog loving button is working properly…the responses on the computer look different than normal. I love your little blog and I love your Swoon. Welcome to the group.

    Like

  3. Hi Deb, looks like Bruny Island gave you all an “Oh what a feeling” weekend.
    Hope your Toyota is back on the road again now.
    Was that you sending up smoke signals when your internet was off??
    Your Swoon Quilt looks great, lots of little triangle and other shaped patterns to sew together.
    Happy quilting.

    Like

  4. I can totally relate to your weather woes and internet problems. I am in Canada and we just finished up with a particularly cold winter this year. Looks like you found the perfect solution. It’s nice to just get out of the house and clear your head – and nice that you got to spend some quality family time together. Your Swoon quilt is simply gorgeous. Great fabric choices! Glad to see you are taking part in the New Blogger hop. You will have a ton of fun… Don’t worry! Hahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great job on the Swoon pattern! The scenery on your hike is amazing — I am just in love with the way the light is shining through the clouds in the distance! Hope things go better for you this week! At least you have a beautiful quilt top to show for your troubles!

    Like

  6. Beautiful Swoon top. A bit of a silver lining for your storm cloud. I loved lagging behind and taking group photos of my boys in action with dad like that. My kids would roll their eyes when they discovered them but they liked them better than the sleeping shots. Hope your car is functioning again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

