Mystery Quilt Along

I have signed up to participate in my first Quilt Along – the Midnight Mystery Quilt Along, hosted by Cheryl of Meadow Mist Designs.

I discovered this Quilt Along while participating in the 2015 New Quilt Bloggers Bog Hop earlier this year. Cheryl was my groups’ (the New Bees) mentor.

IMG_20150702_125150421

I chose my four fabrics from a lovely fat quarter bundle I purchased from my favourite local fabric store – Frangipani Fabrics.

We were given cutting instructions for July

IMG_20150721_134655411

and in August, our first sewing instructions!

IMG_20150809_183708976

We are following a no-waste Flying Geese tutorial which has been posted on the Meadow Mist Designs blog. I have made flying geese using this method once before when making my Marcelle Medallion Quilt last year. It is a great method and has given me an opportunity to practise sewing a “scant” quarter inch seam! This is necessary to end up with the correct sized flying geese.

IMG_20150809_184200338

So now I have 36 flying geese done and I can’t wait for next month’s instructions. It’s fun (and a little scary!) making a quilt step by step with no idea of what the finished result will be.

IMG_20150811_123927911

As an end note, did you notice my new cute pincushion in the above photos?  I made it using some 2 inch Cotton & Steel squares from my scraps.  Can you believe this is the first fabric pincushion I’ve ever made? I’ve only ever used a magnetic pin dish before now. It takes a bit of getting used to!

IMG_20150809_160907927

The pattern is by Jeni Baker and is from the book Stitch ‘n Swap. This book is great and has lots of lovely patterns, a few others that I want to try. As part of the Events team for the Tasmanian Modern Quilt Guild, I have been thinking up ideas for future Guild swaps. If you are looking for similar ideas, I would recommend taking a look at this book.

Until next time, Deb 🙂

7 thoughts on “Mystery Quilt Along

  1. As always Deb your colours are inspiring, did notice the Pin Cushion before I scrolled further down, much nicer to use than magnetic one. Always love seeing a new post from you show up on my messages, just know there’ll be a lovely surprise. Love Heather XX PS Hope your weather is now a bit warmer

    Like

  2. I love a good Quilt Alongs – especially the Mysteries! Today we received instructions for step six of the Scrap Dance QAL, and we still don’t know how it is going to come together! Your pincushion is adorable!

    Like

  3. Those are such gorgeous fabrics, Deb. Yes, it must be a little unnerving making a mystery quilt. But with those fabric choices, how can it turn out to be anything but beautiful?!!! Love your new pincushion!

    Like

Leave a Reply

