Swoon Finish

I finally finished my Swoon Quilt. This quilt has been lingering about for what seems forever so it feels really good to be finished!

IMG_20150816_093027860

This quilt was to be my July finish for A Lovely Year of Finishes but I missed the deadline by a few weeks. It is also one of my Q3 goals for the 2015 Finish Along so at least I can cross this one off that list!

IMG_20150816_085811368

I made this quilt using a variety of yellow and aqua/teal fabrics, many of them from Joel Dewberry’s Notting Hill Citrine collection. I really feel as though I have stepped out of my comfort zone with this quilt.  It’s definitely not my usual style or choice of colour but I am happy with the final result.

IMG_20150816_090212419

For the backing and binding I used a pretty aqua Bear Essentials fabric.

I really had no advance plan when I began quilting this quilt. I firstly outlined the centre star of the swoon “flower” and then stitched diagonally, horizontally and vertically between these stars without ever intersecting them (I had a lot of threads to bury!) I also eventually stitched in the ditch around each outer star.

IMG_20150813_102519810

The result I think is simple, yet effective.

IMG_20150813_102609405

I have quite a few classes and Quilt Alongs planned for the coming months so I am relieved to finally cross this quilt off my long list of WIP’s!

IMG_20150816_094324791

Until next time, Deb 🙂

Linking up to Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts

14 thoughts on “Swoon Finish

  1. Congratulations on finishing! And you made 12 blocks! I have two (of nine) left to go and I am not feeling very motivated. Too many HSTs.

    Your looks fab – I love the colours nod the quilting.

    Like

  2. Hi Deb, I can see why it’s called Swoon Quilt, just beautiful. Do you do your own quilting or have it professionally done, if you do it, do you use a spray on adhesive or do you pin and tack ?

    Like

  3. The quilt looks great Deb! I especially love the aqua binding. The quilting looks great too. Simple enough on the front to let the blocks shine and yet it has a fun, interesting geometric effect on the back (a personal favorite style of quilting).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your Swoon is just gorgeous – love the colours together and your quilting looks wonderful!
    “Visiting as a member of the official 2015 Finish-Along cheerleading squad.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

