September Sewing Goal

There hasn’t been a lot of sewing going on here these past few weeks 😦

Unfortunately, my two boys and myself have been quite sick with a nasty flu virus. We’ve had aches and pains, runny noses and horrible croupy coughs. Thankfully, my husband and daughter managed to avoid this illness.

The good news is that as of today, we are all feeling much better and I am relieved to say that I am eager and excited to get back to my sewing!

The one bit of sewing I can share with you are these cute little zipper pouches I made as party gift bags for my daughter’s recent 10th birthday.

IMG_20150903_115637059

I had fun using some novelty fabrics and colourful zippers from my stash!

I followed a wonderful tutorial by Katy @ Sweet Verbena. These little pouches are quick and simple to make and the fabric is “quilted” onto felt. I added some little star charms  and filled them with some goodies for the party guests.

Now it’s time to set my September goal for A Lovely Year of Finishes.

As you may be aware, I have joined up to participate in the Dog Gone Cute Blog Hop with the lovely Lorna @ Sew Fresh Quilts.

My day to share will be October 13th. I have so far finished only three out of the required twelve blocks for this quilt:

IMG_20150814_111044519

IMG_20150816_144029937

IMG_20150816_175752105

So, my September goal for ALYoF is to have all twelve blocks completed.

I have many more projects on the go and hope to be able to show you my progress in the near future.

Thanks for visiting, Deb 🙂

5 thoughts on “September Sewing Goal

  1. Yours are very Cute!! Saw you on Year of Finishes. I am making mine to resemble my real life dogs. I have followed you on bloglovin!! would love for you to follow me back. georgiafloridastudio.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Those puppy blocks are adorable! And what a cute idea to do zip bags as party favors. I love practical favors. I even did toothbrushes one year!

    Like

  3. What lovely pouches Deb, great bright colours. Also love your quilt blocks. Great to hear you are all now well. Love Heather XXOO

    Like

  4. Bet there will be more kids wanting to come to the 11th birthday party next year Deb,
    especially with goodie pouches to be given away.
    We love your puppy blocks too.
    Do they have names??
    How about Bluey, Mustard and Patch.
    LoL HnA.

    Like

  5. Just love your ‘dogie’ blocks deb,bet you’ll have some eager little little eyes following the progress of these blocks! The goodie pouches no doubt were a ‘hit’ with the excited party guests and so bright and colorful too! Iove mum xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

