My New Medallion

Last year, I attended my first ever quilting class at my favourite local fabric store Frangipani Fabrics.

My teacher was Jess Frost. Jess is an amazing local quilter and teacher and has become a good friend of mine.  If you haven’t visited Jess’s blog The Elven Garden, you really should take a look!

It was at this class last year that I started my Marcelle Medallion Quilt which was eventually finished in May this year. You can read more about it here.

IMG_20150711_115448007

I had no hesitation in signing up for another class with Jess this year – this time to make Elizabeth Hartman’s Aviatrix Medallion Quilt.

For this quilt, I’ve decided to use a Joel Dewberry Bungalow fat quarter bundle that I purchased on ebay earlier this year.

IMG_20150525_125632110

This is the first fat quarter bundle I have ever owned and I was hesitant to use it. It’s just SOO pretty…

IMG_20150525_125708993 IMG_20150525_125522330

Anyway, I started on my medallion centre this week.

IMG_20150917_092433427

This stage involves using a template to cut out 40 coloured diamonds and 32 white “block accent” diamonds and arranging them like so.

IMG_20150917_112416234

I have had some great practise matching my points and I am thrilled with how it is looking so far.

For the background, I have decided to use some Carolyn Friedlander Doe fabric, which after an excruciatingly long wait, has finally arrived in Tasmania.

IMG_20150917_112911171

I am looking forward to my next class this weekend where we will piece together the centre diamonds with the background fabric and hopefully start on our first border.

Stay tuned for further progress…

Deb 😉

5 thoughts on “My New Medallion

  1. Deb, you certainly meet the title of a “Prolific Quilter”, something I will never attain, I’ll definitely stay tuned for further blocks. Love Heather XXXOOO

    Like

Leave a Reply

