Christmas Challenge Completed

My November goal for ALYoF (link up #8) was to complete a Christmas challenge project for my guild, the Tasmanian Modern Quilt Guild.

For this challenge, we had to use the three non-traditional colours of grey, red and aqua to create a Christmas item using a technique demonstrated at our monthly meetings throughout 2015.

I chose foundation paper piecing to create a Christmas table runner.

My first (and third) block was a paper pieced star block – actually a “flower” – a free pattern from shop martingale.

IMG_20151012_201045467

I used some lovely Christmassy grey background fabric combined with Amy Butler Lark, Cotton and Steel basics and Studio RK Fusion Garden Geo Splatter.

My second block was a complicated snowflake block – a free pattern available on Craftsy.

I was a bit worried as I was piecing this block that it wasn’t going to work out. There were many pieces involved!

snowflake 1

But, thankfully it did!

snowflake 2

snowflake 3

snowflake 4

The three blocks were put together,

snowflake 5

and backed with some novelty owl Christmas fabric.

snowflake 6

I kept the quilting simple by outlining the main shapes in each block.

IMG_20151127_091030075

 

IMG_20151127_091036233

So there it is – my completed November goal and a new project ready for my table this Christmas!

IMG_20151129_131252381

Now to think up a new goal for this next busy month of December…

Deb 😉

 

10 thoughts on “Christmas Challenge Completed

  1. Wow, I love your table runner!!! Way to combine a flower (makes a great star!) and a snowflake to get gorgeous!!! I’m going to give that snowflake a go and see how mine turns out!! Congratulations on meeting your November goal!

    Like

  2. That runner is superb, very elegant, there’s a lot of precise work in it, beautiful sharp points, and just love the colour scheme. Very well done Deb, you’re very creative. love from Heather XXOO

    Like

  3. That is a beautiful Xmas table runner Deb. You are very cleaver.
    We can’t wait to have Xmas lunch with you and your runner. LoL H&A

    Like

  4. It’s glorious! I love ape ripening. That snowflake block would have intimidated me, too! Congratulations on accomplishing your festive Nov. goal! Now to enjoy it!

    Like

  5. All your beautiful work is absolutely meticulous deb – how you continue(effortlessly!!)to present these gorgeous projects is beyond me -your modern christmas runner will take pride of place on your family table love mum xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

