Scrap Play

With my decrease in quality sewing time due to an ever busy life schedule, I’ve taken to doing a bit of sewing here, a bit of sewing there… basically whenever I can find a spare five or ten minutes!

I have a few finished quilt tops – one that is basted – ready to be quilted. But finding a decent chunk of time where it is worth the effort to move my old Janome, from it’s small table in my “sewing room” out to the larger dining table, with more space for quilting, is proving quite difficult.

So I’ve been playing with my scraps and having a lot of fun doing so.

Scrap play1

(That’s my rolled up and basted Colour Happy quilt at the top waiting to be quilted!)

This is what my little design wall looks like this week.

Scrap play2

On the top left is some paper pieced economy blocks I made using my Amy Butler fabric scraps. The template for this block by Lynne Goldsworthy @ Lily’s Quilts can be found here. Unfortunately, I misjudged the amount of  large AB scraps I had and had to compensate with a few other fabrics.

Scrap play5

The wonderful and popular book Sunday Morning Quilts is also providing much inspiration for me at the moment.

I’m using my black, white and colour on black scraps to make my version of the Candy Coated quilt pattern from this book.

Scrap play3

I’ve also made several blocks for another pattern in the book Scrapper’s Delight.

scrappers delight1

It’s fun to see some of my most loved colour fabrics in this one. It’s going to be one very vibrant quilt. Only 32 more quadrants to go…

I do get quite concerned sometimes that I am starting a lot of projects but not finishing many. However, I am loving this craft and learning so much so I thing that’s what really matters 🙂

Linking up to MCM @ Cooking Up Quilts and Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts

17 thoughts on “Scrap Play

  1. You’re right Deb – having fun is definitely what matters! Thanks for the link to the PP economy block. I like that block a lot and am interested in trying a PP version. You are making progress on a lot of projects and before you know it you’ll have them finished. It’s amazing how much we can accomplish in a few minutes here and there!

    Like

  2. These are all great projects. Love them. Many of us have piles of different projects going on at once. It’s part of the fun!

    Like

  3. Your choice of fabrics is always lovely, starting projects is a lot of fun, finishing them not always so. In our Fibre Arts Group we all have lots of UFO’s, sometimes it seems to be a challenge to see who has the most. (LOL). Great work Deb.

    Like

  4. Yep! I haven’t come across m(any) quilters who aren’t working on several projects at once! I love all of the blocks on your design wall, beautiful fabrics all looking great together.

    Like

  5. What a happy design wall! Those economy blocks are super sweet. Glad to hear you are still finding time for a little sewing here and there. It’s not easy…. But totally necessary!

    Like

  6. Lovely projects going on in your studio. Sometimes a project might just be a learning experience rather than aspiring to a finished project. That said, I am trying to finish my over 40 UFOs. I’ve been making quite the dent in them since last year it was over 50. Of course, I’m not counting the tops waiting to be quilted. Sigh. If you end up with UFOs you can always consider it your retirement savings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

