Sewing Table Topper

sewing mat7It’s the start of two weeks of school holidays down here in Tasmania, Australia. While the kids were playing happily together outside, I was able to find a few hours yesterday afternoon to finish a new cover for my sewing table. (Up until now, my sewing table has been covered in a beach towel!)

When I first began sewing in 2014, I discovered a wonderful local fabric store Frangipani Fabrics and signed up to be a member of their Fabric Club. Each month, members receive in the mail 10 x 6½ inch squares of the latest fabric collections. Although no longer subscribed to this club – I visit the store regularly – I have collected quite a pile of these lovely little squares.

I sorted through what I had and pulled out a variety of greens, yellows and a few blues.

sewing mat1The plan was to sew these squares together in random order. However, I don’t do “random” very well, so after much deliberation, I finally settled on a 5 x 10 arrangement which would result in the perfectly sized table topper with no overhang.

Sewing mat2I didn’t want a binding on this table topper, so I created a quilt sandwich with batting and backing fabric and quilted diagonal lines through each square. I chose not to mark any lines and am happy to say that the lines turned out pretty straight.

sewing mat3I created the back for this table topper using some green fabric from my stash. I just love the Joel Dewberry Modern Meadow fabric and am a little sad that this is my only piece.sewing mat4

sewing mat6I cut the backing fabric to the same size as the quilt top – 30 x 60 inches – and sewed the two pieces right sides together, leaving a large gap for turning out.

After turning out the right way, I gave the quilt a good press with a hot iron, making sure to carefully tuck in the edges of the opening. I then top stitched around all edges of the quilt, which closed the gap and gave the quilt a nice finish.

sewing mat5I am so happy with how this table topper has turned out.

sewing mat8This really was a spur-of-the-moment project idea but the end result has already made my sewing space a much nicer place to spend time in 🙂

Linking up to MCM @ Cooking Up Quilts and Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts

2 thoughts on “Sewing Table Topper

  1. Really lovely Deb, you certainly have a stash of fabric too. Enjoy your school holidays with your 3 Angels. Love Heather XX

    Like

Leave a Reply

