Plus Plus Quilt Top

On Sunday, my guild – the Tasmanian Modern Quilt Guild – held a casual sit and sew day where members could bring along their chosen WIP’s. I have been desperate for a chance to do some serious “head down” sewing and so was rather keen for this day to arrive!

My main goal for the day was to finish my Plus Plus Quilt top after I managed to make the remaining fifteen blocks during the week.

I was very pleased to be able to achieve this goal – yay!

PlusPlus8

I had organised the blocks into rows at home and so had the relatively easy task yesterday of sewing them together.PlusPlus7.jpg

For this project, I felt that I really needed to see the blocks on a vertical design wall to achieve the best arrangement of fabrics and colours. (Usually I lay my quilt blocks out on the floor and stand on the dining room table to see 🙂 )

So I came up with the perfect temporary design wall at home – I cut a piece of batting to the required size and attached it to my dining room roller blind with binding clips!

PlusPlus11

This method worked perfectly and as this window isn’t the only one in the room, I was able to keep the design wall there for a few days until I was satisfied with my arrangement. The added bonus is that I now have the batting cut to size for this quilt top. I will definitely use this “wall” again!

PlusPlus12

This wonderful quilt pattern is by Cheryl @ Meadow Mist Designs and is a pattern I won as a prize for participating in the 2015/2016 Midnight Mystery Quilt-a-long. My lap size version measures 63″ square and the fabrics are all Cotton and Steel fabrics from various collections including Basics, Playful, Zephyr, Moonlit, Spellbound and August.

I’ve already purchased some Playful fabric (at half price!) for the backing. Although I have other projects that need finishing, this quilt may become a priority as I’m seriously crushing on all those gorgeous fabrics!

PlusPlus10

PlusPlus9

Linking up to Main Crush Monday @ Cooking Up Quilts, Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts and Needle and Thread Thursday @ My Quilt Infatuation.

16 thoughts on “Plus Plus Quilt Top

  1. You’re correct when you say ‘gorgeous fabrics’ – that’s exactly what they are, and arranged beautifully. Love your design wall too!! Love and Hugs XX

    Like

  2. Your quilt top is gorgeous Deb! Your idea for a design ‘wall’ is ingenious, and a bonus that you had the batting cut to the perfect size for your top. Any idea how you’re going to quilt it yet? I’m looking forward to seeing the finish. Thanks for linking this great quilt to MCM!

    Like

  3. What a great idea to use your blinds as a design wall! I really appreciate that I have space for a design wall and find it so helpful to see it up. If you don’t always want to set up a temporary deal, then you could always take a few snapshots of your quilt on the floor, standing on a chair, and compare them on the computer.

    Great colors! C&S has such nice color palettes!

    Like

  4. What a great idea for that design wall! I am finding more and more that I would like to have one rather than laying things out on the floor or bed and picking them up and putting them back everyday.

    Like

  5. Such a simple design, but with a variation in the size of the plus, makes for a gorgeous quilt. You did a fabulous job. Found you on Kelly’s NTT.
    Hugs,
    Preeti.

    Like

Leave a Reply

