A New Project!

Today I have a new project to share with you.

(Like, I really need a new project, hey? 😉 )

SimplyColorful7

These blocks are a free charm squares pattern Ocean Breeze (by Susan Emory) for Michael Miller Fabrics.

I was given a pack of Moda Simply Colorful II (by V & Co.) charm squares for my birthday last year and have been on the hunt since then for a suitable pattern.

I’m not 100% sure at this stage whether I will follow this pattern as written, although it is very tempting. An “on point” quilt is on my quilting bucket list!

Instead, I’m thinking about making either a table runner or altering the pattern by adding extra sashing strips and thereby increasing the finished quilt size. Any thoughts?

I love the colour palette of this collection and am especially enamoured by the following two fabrics:

SimplyColorful11.jpg

I hope you’re having a wonderful Monday. It’s the start of school holidays here in Tasmania, Australia and the kids and I are enjoying a wet weather pajama day at home!

Deb 🙂

Linking up to MCM @ Cooking Up Quilts and Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts

 

11 thoughts on “A New Project!

  1. The white strips really accentuate the fabrics in your charm pack. I have to go to work soon : { not that I mind work it’s just hard to go there in the summer. We had Friday as a holiday but Friday is my normal day off.

    Like

  2. What a great block to use charm squares. Straight set or on point, either will be nice! With the way you have enlarged the blocks in the collage, shows the pattern would work equally as well with a layer cake. You would just need to enlarge the sashing.

    Like

  3. Another use for those pesky charm packs!! This is a great block, is there a tutorial for it? The blues and greens are my favorite. Great job, and can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    Like

Leave a Reply

