Drawstring Bags

Many of my large scale quilting projects have gone by the wayside as the busyness of everyday family and work life accelerates at this time of year. I have instead tried to make the most of a few minutes here and a few minutes there to concentrate on finishing some of the small scale projects from my Quarter 3 goals list.

Making these cute drawstring bags – a free tutorial from S.O.T.A.K Handmade – has become my newest addiction.

drawstring-bags9

Just as I became similarly obsessed with making Noodlehead’s Open Wide Zippered Pouches last year, I have been making these little bags with Christmas gifts in mind.

(This little cutie below didn’t make it that far and was given as a birthday gift to one of my 11 year old daughter’s friends on the weekend 🙂 )

drawstring-bags1

Most of the fabrics I used were novelty linen/canvas fabrics with the exception of the emoji poplin.

  • Cotton + Steel Canvas “Playful”

drawstring-bags4

  • Cosmo Textiles Linen “Penguins” Happy Feet.

drawstring-bags6

  • Kokka “Trefle”

drawstring-bags7

  • Cosmo Textiles “Retro Foxes”

drawstring-bags5

  • Sopo Line (Japanese Fabric) “Nordic Forest”

drawstring-bags2

  • “Smiley” Poplin

drawstring-bags3

I really love the contrasting linen fabric casing and leather cord which add a special touch to this simple drawstring bag.

These bags constitute another finish to cross off my Quarter 3 list (#11) for the 2016 Finish Along.drawstring-bags8

Linking up to Main Crush Monday @ Cooking Up Quilts and Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts!

15 thoughts on “Drawstring Bags

  1. Cute little bags! Especially love the red with foxes. Thanks for the link to the tutorial. These would be great to put a small gift in.

    Like

  2. These are really beautiful and fun! I just picked also some fabrics for drawstring bags – great place to use special fabrics without cutting them small pieces. x Teje

    Like

  3. Great choice of fabrics. When making cute little bags, it is so important to choose bright, happy fabrics. They are like potato chips – you cannot make one or even two. Ask me how I know 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

