Plus Plus Quilt Finish

I cleared off my rather overcrowded sewing room table this week to create some much needed space to quilt and finish my Plus Plus (aka Cotton & Steel #2) Quilt.PlusPlusFinish8.jpg

For this fun and cheerful quilt I used various Cotton and Steel fabrics from my stash and used this wonderful pattern by Cheryl @ Meadow Mist Designs.

For the backing, I pieced together some larger pieces from the Playful and Spellbound collections. I quilted it in a simple grid pattern using a beautiful golden thread (Guttermann Col. 956).plusplusfinish4plusplusfinish3

I had initially visualised a chartreuse or green fabric for the binding but didn’t have enough of these colours leftover. (I was determined not to purchase any more fabric for this project and only use what I had!) So instead I chose to use navy and think that it frames this quilt quite nicely. I was a bit short on Mesa Fern Book so added in a strip of navy Basics XOXO.

This 64 square inch quilt is my first finish for Quarter 4 (#1) of the 2016 Finish Along.PlusPlusFinish7.jpg

I have also made significant progress these past few weeks on Cotton & Steel Quilt #3. I have managed to complete all thirty nine blocks and now just need to piece them together. Fingers crossed that I’ll have a completed quilt top to share with you soon!

It’s weird because it sounds like I have done heaps of sewing lately but this could not be further from the truth. My mood’s been low – still waiting for that warm spring sunshine which has been delayed by what seems like constant cold rainy days- plus we’ve also been super busy trying to finish our kitchen renovation in time for the annual arrival of Christmas visitors.

Thankfully it seems that even a few minutes sewing here and there can result in some progress 🙂

Deb

Linking up to MCM @ Cooking Up Quilts, Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts and NTT @ My Quilt Infatuation

22 thoughts on “Plus Plus Quilt Finish

  1. Very lovely Deb, you’re certainly enjoying your sewing, enjoy your new kitchen too, I’ve just started a Stitchery Quilt, will be a long term project though, Sending Hugs……………X

    Like

  2. Congratulations on such a splendid finish – it is gorgeous! The gold thread looks lovely and may just be something I ‘borrow’ in the future. Sope it’s not long before Spring arrives properly for you …. we are now very definitely mid Autumn and can already feel Winter just around the corner some mornings!

    Like

  3. What a colourful quilt Deb and how effective is that gorgeous golden thread!! Your ideas anable you to add ‘that something special’ to your beautiful heirlooms that will be handed down for generations to come.Sending hugs…Mum XX

    Like

  4. I love plus quilts, and this is great. I really like your backing, I love pieced backings too. Different sized pluses is brilliant, I have been working on a red and white plus and it looks quite boring in comparison

    Like

  5. This is a beautiful quilt, and a great finish. I love plus quilts, this one is a so interesting to look at. Thank you for participating in the FAL, on behalf of the 2016 global FAL hosts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

