Time to Sew!

Well, hello there! It’s been almost three months since my last post and I do apologise for my rather long absence.

After a busy Christmas period filled with many family and friends visiting from interstate, I’ve taken a bit of a side step into other non-sewing pursuits. I’ve been enjoying the Tasmanian summer sunshine by working outside in the garden (something I’ve avoided for a few years!) and I’ve also been trying new recipes in the kitchen. My recent culinary successes include slow-cooker massaman beef curry, salted chocolate & peanut cookies and caramelised red onion chutney. Yum!

However, the main focus for me this year has been our three children. They are all growing up way too fast and are now 11, 9 and 8 years old. (How time flies!) I’ve been making an effort to spend more “Mum” time with them by playing board games and doing jigsaw puzzles. As a family, we have also been doing quite a bit of camping and hiking including a recent steep and strenuous 880m ascent to Cathedral Rock.cathedralrock6

School and work resumed three weeks ago and my weekly routine has settled down somewhat. So I figure it’s time to set my own short term sewing goals. I’m hoping that this may give me the push I need to get back my sewing mojo!

The projects at the top of my list are as follows:

  1. Disco by JayBird Quilts – bought as a kit a few years ago. I have cut the pieces and they just need to be sewn together.disco1
  2. Spinning Quilt by Beth @ Cooking Up Quilts – pattern purchased last year, fabrics chosen…it’s time to sew!spinning1
  3. Spin Cycle by Cluck Cluck Sew – I’ve always adored April Rhodes fabrics and Arizona is one of my favourite collections. spincycle1
  4. Twisted Flying Geese Pillow twistedflyinggeese1
  5. Pillow/Mini Quilt using Carrie Bloomston’s Story fabricstory3
  6. Aragon Bag by Sew Sweetness – my recently won pattern for Quarter 4 of the 2016 Finish Along. Thanks so much Sara (and to all of the hosts and sponsors!)

As a final note, I have one small finish (my ONLY finish this year!) to share with you.gingham4

This pillow is a pattern from Issue 23 of Love Patchwork & Quilting magazine. The gingham result is achieved through clever strip piecing. I used some colourful Prints Charming fabric from my stash for the back of the pillow and quilted it with simple straight lines.

gingham3gingham2

Here’s hoping that this is the first of many finishes for 2017 🙂

Linking up to Main Crush Monday @ Cooking Up Quilts

8 thoughts on “Time to Sew!

  1. Hi Deb – Welcome back! Family *always* comes first because they are so precious and deserve our time and attention. They do grow SO fast! I’m glad you’ve had some fun family time with your littles. I can’t wait to see your Spinning! It’s so fun to see someone else’s “spin” on one of my patterns…(see what I did there?) LOL Those twisted flying geese are really interesting. I’ve never seen them before. I’m looking forward to seeing your finished project. It looks to me like you’ve definitely gotten back your sewing mojo!

    Like

  2. Love your finish for this year (Gingham strip pieced cushion), looking forward to seeing your future finishes too. Lovely to hear your family news, and looking forward to another craft journey with you via your blogs. Just love the cushion you made for me, it has pride of place here, Sending hugs to you all, Heather XXXOOO

    Like

  3. Family is important! But I’m glad you are getting back to quilting! You have so many beautiful projects that need finishing! I’ve never heard of a Twisted Flying Geese and you have me very curious! Your pillow is pretty wonderful. Love the red and white Gingham effect!

    Like

  4. Lovely to see you again! What a lovely way to enjoy your summer – time outside, in the kitchen and with family and friends – doesn’t get much better! You have some wonderful projects to come back to so I am sure your sewjo will be well and truly present!

    Like

Leave a Reply

