A Finished Quilt!

It may be August but I am super excited to be able to show you my first quilt finish for 2017. EconomyBlockFinish2

This quilt was made using my leftover Cotton and Steel fabrics – I guess I could call this one Cotton and Steel Quilt #4!

(You can see my previous Cotton & Steel quilts by clicking on the following links: Cotton & Steel Quilt #1Cotton & Steel Quilt #2Cotton & Steel Quilt #3)

 

EconomyBlockFinish1

For this latest quilt, I made super sized economy blocks – a pattern in Love Patchwork and Quilting magazine Issue 46. For the first time I tried QAYG and was pretty happy with the end result. I didn’t struggle with the actual quilting process quite as much and think this technique may be my method of choice for future projects.

After joining the blocks together, I used a much loved Cotton & Steel fabric – Study Hall in black and white by Alexia Marcelle Abegg – from my stash for the backing. I joined the quilted front panel to the backing by stitching along the seams and around the grey background squares, both vertically and horizontally.EconomyBlockFinish5EconomyBlockFinish6

I’m very happy to finally have a quilt finish for the year and am now feeling quietly optimistic that my quilting –  and blogging – will continue, albeit less frequently than previous years 🙂

EconomyBlockFinish4

Linking up again (after a long absence!) to Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts and NTT @ My Quilt Infatuation

 

16 thoughts on “A Finished Quilt!

  1. This may be the quilt that used the last of your scraps, but it is my favourite out of the four. Those big blocks sure do a fantastic job of showing off those fabrics! I have never done quilt-as-you-go. Your method of attaching the front to the backing is brilliant!

    Like

  2. This looks fantastic! I love C+S fabrics! And welcome back! I too have young kiddos that pull me in a million directions (mine are 2 and 4). But quilting time is a priority for me, so I set a 20 minute a day goal. Some days I get a bit more, some days less. The time adds up amazingly fast and I end up getting a lot accomplished!

    Like

  3. I love your C+S quilts–all of them. It’s great to see other quilters who have the same C+S crush as me. The economy block is a wonderful way to use the C+S fabrics, I may be inspired to make one from the never-ending stash. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. And you deserve to feel super excited Deb, because what a lovely quilt it is! You continue to inspire with your ‘gift of colours’ and the use of steel grey sets off your quilt beatifully. Also special mention of that glorious Tassie scenery!! Always my love…mum xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

