Churn Dash Finish

Churn Dash Quilt May 2015

I finished my Churn Dash Quilt over the weekend.

From start to finish, this quilt took me under two weeks to complete.

Churn Dash Quilt May 2015

I am so happy with the way this quilt turned out, from the fabric choices, to my first beautifully mitered corners (I’ve never been really successful with my corners but seem to have turned a corner…hahaha, couldn’t resist that one!!)

Churn Dash Quilt May 2015

I followed the Churn Dash Quilt Along by Amy Smart on We all Sew. As a new sewer/quilter/blogger, I was thrilled to get a comment by Amy on my previous post.  Diary of a Quilter was perhaps one of the first quilting blogs I ever read!.

Churn Dash Quilt May 2015

I have never really favoured the colour green when it comes to fabric, but feel as though this quilt has ended up as a “green” quilt. Maybe that is due in part to the feature fabric, Mineral Forest by Lori Mason for Andover fabric.

IMG_20150502_193235505

I originally bought two metres of this fabric on sale ( I rarely ever buy more than a half metre cut) and decided to splurge the rest on the pieced backing, which I particularly like.

Churn Dash Quilt Back May 2015

The quilting was simply straight line quilting with white Gutermann thread. I echoed the centre of the Churn Dash block both vertically and horizontally using the edge of my walking foot.

Churn Dash Quilt May 2015

I decided to bind this quilt in one of my favourites, Basics Green Stripe by Cotton and Steel. Chartreuse is definitely my fave at the moment!

Churn Dash Quilt

This is definitely my most favourite of the few quilts I have made so far in my short quilting life.  I enjoyed every step of the quilting process!

I hope you like it too!  Deb 🙂

Linking up with Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts

14 thoughts on “Churn Dash Finish

  1. Gorgeous pictures of a gorgeous quilt! What a perfect setting. I love it. Thanks so much for sharing!!

    Like

  2. Wow, this is a lovely quilt. Great job and in under two weeks! I don’t think it reads as a ‘green quilt’. At least not in the photos. I love greens and blues together. Nice pictures, by the way.

    Like

  3. Have seen all your finished projects, you’re doing extremely well Deb, when do you find the time to sleep???, keep up the great work, love Heather

    Like

Leave a comment