Pattern Play Baby Quilt

Thank you so much for your comments and kind words of encouragement regarding my first ever quilt block tutorial. I truly appreciate it.

I have wondered since my last post whether I am getting ahead of myself. What business do I have writing tutorials when I’m relatively new to quilting?

However, most of what I have learned has been due to the generosity of online bloggers who share their knowledge and creativity on a regular basis. I’m so grateful to these bloggers, as without them, I’d have never discovered this beautiful craft or the joy and fulfillment it brings to me and so many others.

I’d like to be able to share what I learn and discover on my own personal quilting journey.

Anyway, today I’m very excited to be able to show you what I have created using my block!

I made ten of these 12 inch quilt blocks – five pairs like shown above. (I did only use nine of these blocks in my baby quilt top.)

I chose varying shades of blue/aqua/teal and then discovered a nice variance when I changed the quadrants of each block around.

Pattern Play Quilt 2I actually like this new arrangement more than the original. I think it is playful and better embraces the name “Pattern Play”. However, I’ll leave you to make up your own mind!

I quilted a pinwheel in the centre of each block to highlight the primary pattern.

Pattern Play Quilt 3And then had some fun with a few other ideas.

Pattern Play Quilt 5Pattern Play Quilt 6The backing I chose is Windham Fabrics Ziggy by French Bull.Pattern Play Quilt 9.jpg I purchased 4 metres of this fabric at a half price sale quite some time ago. I think you’ll agree with me that it is a very usable backing fabric. Pattern Play Quilt 7The binding is a black polka dot from my stash which I think works perfectly with both the front and back of the quilt. Who doesn’t love spots?

Pattern Play Quilt 12I’m really pleased with how this little quilt has turned out and hope to make it again soon using a different colour scheme.Pattern Play Quilt 10Pattern Play Quilt 13Pattern Play Quilt 11If you decide to try my quilt block, and I really hope that you do, please link back to my blog somewhere in your post. I’d love to see what you come up with!

Deb 🙂

Linking up to Main Crush Monday @ Cooking Up Quilts, Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts, Needle and Thread Thursday @ My Quilt Infatuation and TGIFF @ Celtic Thistle Stitches!

 

 

15 thoughts on “Pattern Play Baby Quilt

  1. Fantastic! You have real talent, thank you for sharing your ideas. The blocks remind me a bit of a sawtooth block with the pattern repeating in the negative space. I love spots and stripes for binding ☺

    Like

  2. Deb I love the way you switched up the block! It reminds me a little of a snails tail design, only updated. Everything about your quilt is just right – the design, the backing (!), and the binding. Thanks for writing the tutorial; I would love to make a quilt like this!

    Like

  3. Hmmm . . . sort of Snail’s Trail meets Bow Ties! The strong color contrast really brings out the design. (Great backing fabric, too.)

    Like

  4. SO, at first I thought they were whales! Love the colors and the block is super cool. Playful! Perfect name for the block with so many options! Well done on your first block!

    Like

  5. That was such a clever idea to switch out the block segments to create the alternate pattern! This is a beautiful quilt… Love the quilting and the backing and binding are such a compliment to the front. Well done!

    Like

  6. This is awesome Deb! I love the way you switched up the block and the quilting you did is spectacular. Kudo’s to you for jumping in to the designing game.

    Like

  7. This is new!!! I have not seen this block before. Kudos to you on developing an original pattern. And then sharing it very generously with the blogland dwellers. You rock!!! Lovely quilt too 🙂

    Like

  8. Hi Deb! This is fantastic quilt! Your block turned out very interesting and in the small photo it look like ‘puzzle’. Beautiful colours and photos too! x Teje

    Like

  9. No surprise that you are already writing and sharing your own block tutorials Deb! The pinwheel centre is very effective and backing/binding striking – and not to mention the breath-taking scenery! love mum xoxo

    Like

Leave a comment