Off Kilter Scrap Pillow

This week I added the sashing strips to my Off Kilter quilt top.

IMG_20160314_160909235

I made this quilt using a pattern from one of my library book loans Jump Start Your Quilting. The pattern – “Off Kilter” is by Konda Lockau of Moose on the Porch Designs.

For this quilt, I used a Tula Pink Elizabeth Layer Cake.

This beautiful fabric and the Bella Solids grey background fabric were a pleasure to work with and I didn’t want to waste a precious inch!

While making my large blocks for this quilt, I made HST’s with the offcuts,

and played around with a few ideas for a pillow top.

The first option is (on a smaller scale) from the pattern Dizzying Diamonds by Melissa @ Sew BitterSweet Designs. I won this great pattern in A Lovely Year of Finishes 2015. I really like this Layer Cake-friendly pattern and plan to make an entire quilt using it one day.

However, for this particular pillow project, I decided to go with Option 3.

off kilter pillow3

For the back of the pillow, I chose some gorgeous Tsuru “Old Lace” fabric in cerulean by Rashida Coleman-Hale for Cloud 9 Fabrics.

I followed a Zipper Pillow tutorial that I have used once before but I had to modify it slightly so that I didn’t lose the points on my triangles. Attaching a zipper with a quarter inch seam resulted in some very wobbly stitching! I ended up unpicking these stitches and re-sewing it with the pillow front and back flat and the zipper open. The result was much better although if I make a pillow like this again, I’ll probably make an envelope enclosure for the back instead.

off kilter pillow6off kilter pillow5

The pillow top finished at 15½ inches square and I used a size 16 cushion insert to fill it, resulting in a nice plump pillow!

off kilter pillow1off kilter pillow2

We are enjoying our Easter long weekend at home this year. The kids are overdosing on chocolate while my husband and I are knocking down some internal walls ready for a future kitchen renovation.

I really hope you and your family are enjoying a relaxing long weekend.

Let’s hope no one ends up in a chocolate coma like our kids have 🙂

Easter coma

Linking up to MCM @ Cooking Up Quilts and Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts

10 thoughts on “Off Kilter Scrap Pillow

  1. Inspiring projects! I love the versatility of half square triangles and the fabrics you’ve used look just great.

    Like

  2. Lovely fabrics, love the pillow. Great to see a photo of your 3 angels too. Good to hear you all had a good Easter. Love Heather XX

    Like

  3. What a beautiful pillow! Great use for those hst squares! In fact that is a good ides to make a quilt with pattern where we get at same time ready hst squares for the pillow! Farbics are special! x Teje

    Like

  4. The one thing about quilting that has always bothered me a bit is that sometimes you loose such pretty little snippits when trimming… I love it when those snippits can become something too! I like the design you picked the best! Your quilt should be a fun finish too!

    Usually when I make a pillow with a zipper, I make sure to always add and extra 1/4 inch to the bottom. Making sure that the points don’t get gobbled up is awefully tricky, so on a quilted pillow I usally opt for an envelope closure.

    Greetings from Germany!

    Like

Leave a comment