Modern Crosses Quilt Top

After sewing my thirty-five log cabin blocks together, I was happy to discover that my finished Modern Crosses Quilt top measures 45″ x 57″ which I think is a reasonable size for a lap quilt.Modern crosses 1.jpg I made this quilt using a pattern from the wonderful book Modern Log Cabin Quilting but I made a few modifications which you can read about in my previous post.

I did play with a few alternative layout ideas

before deciding that I liked the staggered arrangement best with the colours fading from left to right.Modern crosses 1I’m still contemplating how to quilt this one but already have it basted and ready for when I decide…

Modern crosses 3This week, I also finished quilting my Colour Happy Quilt and have started hand stitching down the binding. I’m hoping to be able to show you the finished quilt very soon.

 

May Is For Makers | LRstitched.comFor Week 4 of the May is for Makers campaign, I decided to purchase a pattern that I can see myself making in the near future.

While on a road trip with my family earlier in the year, I stumbled unexpectedly on a quaint little gift/quilt shop in a small country town. I managed to pick up a bargain jelly roll from the Moda fabric collection Road 15 by Sweetwater.

I’ve been searching for a suitable jelly roll pattern and think that this Hexie Framed quilt pattern by Quilty Love will be perfect!

Image of Hexie Framed PDF patternLinking up to Main Crush Monday @ Cooking Up Quilts, Design Board Monday @ Bits ‘n Bobs, Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts and Needle and Thread Thursday @ My Quilt Infatuation 

 

16 thoughts on “Modern Crosses Quilt Top

  1. Your Modern Crosses top looks great. I really like the low volume background. Looking forward to seeing the surprise quilt. Great score with the pattern.

    Like

  2. First, I am a big fan of rainbow quilts! I love your layout and I’m sure you will come up with the perfect quilting design for it too!

    Like

  3. Again, a beautiful Quilt, your layout of blocks is wonderful, and colours are very pleasing too. Well done Deb. Love Heather.

    Like

  4. Your layout on the crosses is perfect. Love the staggered setting and can’t wait to see how you decide to quilt it. What a fabulous choice of patterns for your MayisforMakers purchase. I can’t believe that is a jelly roll pattern!

    Like

  5. Love how you’ve chosen the fading effect on your quilt top Deb-and your Colour Happy Quilt sneak preview has left ‘excitement in the air’ with your future blogs.with love Mum XOXO

    Like

  6. I love the layout you chose Deb. The way the blocks are staggered and the colors fade is just perfect. I’m looking forward to seeing how you decide to quilt it – there are so many design possibilities! 🙂 Thanks for sharing this on Main Crush Monday!

    Like

  7. I have a few quilts laying around waiting for their quilt design to reveal themselves as well.
    I can’t wait to see what you come up with!
    Great job!

    Like

Leave a comment