More Vintage Blocks

A little while ago, I told you about my recent purchase of the 2013 book Vintage Quilt Revival. This was my first block from the book – Geometric Star.

IMG_20150728_105344973

I have become completely hooked on paper piecing and have been intermittently making blocks over the past few weeks that I wanted to share with you.

Red Cross (my absolute favourite!):

IMG_20150730_113056853

Wheel of Fortune:

IMG_20150731_130552581

Dakota Star:

IMG_20150819_173849175

Riviera:

IMG_20150818_150957740

Exploding Star:

IMG_20150820_111033339And here they are all together!

IMG_20150820_110923328I think you can see where I’m heading with the colour scheme!

I’ve been planning to make a navy and pink quilt for a while now. I even had a practise run with my Eight Point Star Mini Quilt.

For the quilt I have in mind, I will need four more blocks so I’m more than halfway done 😉

I’ve also joined up for yet another Quilt-Along/Blog Hop with Lorna @ Sew Fresh Quilts. Lorna has a created a wonderful Dog Gone Cute pattern that I, as a major dog lover, couldn’t resist! You can read more about it here.

Sew Fresh Quilts

I’ve purchased the pattern, and although the Quilt Along doesn’t start until September 1, I couldn’t resist making my first block:

IMG_20150814_111044519

How cute is this puppy??

Deb 🙂

12 thoughts on “More Vintage Blocks

  1. Your Vintage quilt blocks look like what you see through a kaleidoscope Deb.
    They are striking and beautiful.
    The puppy patterns are great and remind us of past pets. NnP.

    Like

  2. Lovely colours (and sharp points), can see why I backed away from Patchwork, could never quite manage those points. Wonderful work Deb. Love Heather XX

    Like

  3. Your paper pieced blocks look really great. That will be one beautiful quilt. I have the book as well but haven’t made anything from it yet. I’ll be joining you with the quilt along.

    Like

  4. Love your paper piecing blocks – they are beautiful!!! A pink and navy quilt will be stunning!! Your puppy is adorable!!!

    Like

  5. Wow!!! The blocks are just gorgeous. The precision on all the points is amazing …. might have to have a go at paper piecing. Love the DGC block too. I’ve joined for my first blog hop so have the pattern too but just have to finish my current quilt before I can play ….

    Like

Leave a Reply

