Paper Pieced Pillow

For me, 2016 has been a year filled with many small project finishes including drawstring bags and pillow covers. This week I can cross another small goal (#3) off my Quarter 4 list!paper-pieced-pillow3

The pattern for this paper pieced “Stargazing” cushion cover comes from Issue 14 of Quilt Now magazine. I chose fabrics from my stash including one of my faves – Northcott “Doodles” (by Sue Beevers) for the background fabric – and a selection of others including fabrics by Tula Pink, Denyse Schmidt and Prints Charming.paper-pieced-pillow2

The original pattern has the centre star made using the same background fabric as the rest of the pillow. I felt as though the star needed a bit more oomph and so I unpicked and replaced those pieces with Navy Bubbles Monochromatix (Robert Kaufman).paper-pieced-pillow1

This pillow is my second finish for Quarter 4 of the 2016 Finish Along.

I have also been working on several other small projects these past few weeks.

I work two days a week as a Teacher Aide at a community run Pre-Kinder Centre. I really wanted to make each of the wonderful 3-to-4 year old children I work with a special gift for Christmas. Using the drawstring bag tutorial by S.O.T.A.K Handmade that I have used previously, I made a scaled down smaller version that the teacher and I can fill with various craft items and present to the children at our Christmas break up.beehive-bags

As our centre has a bee related name, I found some perfect Saffron Craig Bee fabric to use for the bags. Each bag has been cut to reduce wastage and is therefore slightly different from the others. Sixteen children attend our centre on either one or both days so I still have another five bags to make.

The final small project I made over the weekend is a star for my guild’s (the Tasmanian Modern Quilt Guild) “Kris Kringle” Christmas tree ornament swap.

(No peeking if you are a fellow member…)

xmas-ornament2

I had a lot of fun making this little star ornament using this tutorial. I think I may need to make myself another for my own Christmas tree!

xmas-ornament1

I still have a few projects I would like to get finished before the end of the year. However, with only six weeks to go until Christmas, I am seriously doubting my chances!

How about you? Are you on track with your end-of-year goals and Christmas sewing?

Deb 🙂

Linking up to Main Crush Monday @ Cooking Up Quilts, Let’s Bee Social @ Sew Fresh Quilts and NTT @ My Quilt Infatuation

19 thoughts on “Paper Pieced Pillow

  1. Love your Paper Piecing project, the colours are wonderful, I really enjoy the paper piecing technique, (very English), your little Kindy gifts are beaut, also love the Christmas decoration. Sending Hugs ………..X

    Like

  2. I love your finishes! That background on the pillow really makes the other fabrics pop, it looks great. I love the little star ornament and the bags are such a nice part of the gifts for the kids.

    Like

  3. These are all such beautiful projects. I love those bees! I don’t really make Christmas projects much but I do like that star….I might have to make a couple of those.

    Like

    1. I love the paper piecing on the pillows. For those strange angles it is the only way to go. I thoroughly agree with your color adjustment for the center star. It really pops. I also like your creativity in the bee bags. I would lament that each were not identical but it is very clever to just let go and cut the fabric to advantage. I must keep that approach in mind for my projects in the future.

      Like

  4. A lovely collection of projects. I’ve lost sight of specific goals for this year – just keep working to deadlines with little idea what I’ll be doing next. Not my favourite way of doing things so definitely time for a re-think before the start of 2017!

    Like

  5. So I was calmly reading about your pillow and thinking just how lovely it is when things got more cute with those bumblebee bags and then even more cute with the star ornament. I love,love, love the fabric you chose to use for that ornament. ADORABLE. All my Christmas sewing is done and I have 2 stores to go to this weekend and all my shopping will be done. I try to get it all done before Thanksgiving here in the states because I don’t like crowds and traffic. No stress.

    Like

  6. Hi Deb! I love this beautiful pillow and the cute draw string bags! Christmas star is super! I made once baby toy similar but never thought to make small diamonds for ornament. Thank you for inspiration! x Teje

    Like

  7. Small projects can be so satisfying in between quilts. Such a lovely pillow, and it looks like you were on the right track with the dark center, which is the perfect contrast for the busier fabric that it sits on.

    Like

  8. Your pillow is lovely. I really think the navy fabric for the star was a perfect choice. The bee bags are adorable and will be so special for the kids. And your ornament is so pretty too 🙂 What a great collection of little projects!

    Like

  9. I fell in love with your pillow at first sight! Though the other projects are lovely, too. And the sewing for “your” kids is so generous. I hope they and you will enjoy the Christmas time a lot.

    Like

  10. What about that amazing star in the centre of your cushion Deb! A simple change that says wow!! And so this is Christmas! and the littles are going to love their ‘bee’ bags-a lovely idea. Love the star ornament too. Sending hugs…Mum XX

    Like

  11. Your pillow is so pretty – paper piecing is on my Quilt Dreams 2017 list. I have to admit, I’m intimated by the whole process! And your star? Precious! I’ve pinned it to my Christmas board! Absolutely darling! I found you at Main Crush Monday at Cooking Up Quilts – and I’m so glad you were there! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

